ECA, AUC and African Development Bank establish a Joint Secretariat in support of Africa’s development
12-10-2010 09:53:53 | by: Administrator | hits: 55636 | Tags:

ECA, AUC and African Development Bank establish a Joint Secretariat in support of Africa’s development

Three of Africa’s foremost institutions, the Economic Commission for Africa (ECA), the African Development Bank (AfDB) and the African Union Commission (AUC) have established a Joint Secretariat to enhance coherence and cooperation in support of Africa’s development agenda.

A statement issued today by the ECA said the Joint Secretariat would enhance knowledge sharing and foster stronger institutional and programme links between departments and divisions in the three institutions for the benefit of Africa.

The institutions agreed to collaborate on the basis of some key principles, including mutual respect and recognition of the mandates of the three institutions and their comparative advantages.

They also recognize that since the three institutions were set up to serve the same African cause, “areas identified for joint activities shall not be add-ons to the regular programme activities, but part of the approved work programme of each institution.

The Joint Secretariat is headed by the heads of the three institutions --- the Chairperson of AUC, the UN Under-Secretary General/Executive Secretary of the ECA and the President of the AfDB---who have agreed to meet, at least, twice annually to review progress and approve joint work programmes.

The Secretariat also has a Steering Committee which is made up of the AUC Deputy Chairperson, ECA Deputy Executive Secretary and the AfDB Vice President, who are supported by the relevant Commissioners, Chiefs of Staff and Directors from the three institutions.

The statement said the Steering Committee would be responsible for harmonizing the calendar of meetings of the three institutions to avoid date clashes and monitoring progress in the implementation of agreed programmes.

It also has a Thematic Working Group, composed of experts from the three institutions who will address specific sectoral issues.

The Secretariat, which is headed by a Coordinator, is based at the ECA headquarters in Addis Ababa and will be supported by staff seconded from the three institutions.


This article was originally posted on Sustainable Development Africa Platform